LCHC is fortunate to have a committed group of Board Members who help to determine the organization’s priorities, as well as a group of supportive emeritus board members.  Together these boards possess a wealth of information regarding Latino health, organizational development, legislative advocacy and effective collaboration.

Xóchitl Castañeda

Xóchitl Castañeda

Director of Health Initiative of the Americas (HIA), University of California Berkeley, School of Public Health

Carmela Castellano-Garcia, Esq.

Carmela R. Castellano-Garcia, Esq.

Health Care Access Policy Chair

President & Chief Executive Officer,  California Primary Care Association (CPCA)

Irma Cota

Irma Cota, MPH


President & Chief Executive Officer, North County Health Services 

As North County Health Services President and CEO since 1997, Irma Cota is an active member in the San Diego County community. She currently serves as the Chair of the Board of Managers for Integrated Health Partners, Secretary of the Board of Directors for Health Center Partners of Southern California, a board member of the North San Diego Economic Council, a board member for the Elizabeth Hospice, CSUSM University Council and the Palomar College President’s Circle.

Ms. Cota has experience in executive management, strategic program planning, finance, and operational management in both the public and private sector. Under her direction, NCHS has become an organization that serves more than 62,000 individuals annually at eleven clinic locations, employs a staff of more than 700 and has an annual budget of over $60+ million.

With a Master’s Degree in Public Health from San Diego State University, and four certificates in health administration leadership from various institutions, Cota has earned a variety of awards and recognitions including the 2014 UT San Diego’s Latino Healthcare Champion Award, The Bill Uhland Ethics Award in 2012 from the San Marcos Rotary Club, “Women who Mean Business,” by The San Diego Business Journal and finalist for “Most Admired CEO” by The San Diego Business Journal, “50 People to Watch” by North San Diego Lifestyle magazine and “Woman of Distinction” by the Oceanside Soroptimist Club. She has also been a proud recipient of the San Diego County’s Public Health Champion Award and the “Distinguished Alumni” from SDSU School of Public Health.

Genoveva Islas, MPH

Genoveva Islas, MPH

Program Director, Cultiva la Salud

Genoveva Islas, MPH, directs Cultiva La Salud, which works to address poor nutrition and physical inactivity in the San Joaquin Valley by creating healthier environments. Genoveva has extensive experience in obesity and chronic disease prevention She has also managed health education and cultural and linguistic services in the medical managed care arena. She has instructed at the junior college level and lectured in the California State University system.
Genoveva is board member of the California Food Policy Advocates, Community Water Center and California Institute for Rural Studies. She sits on the steering committee for California Convergence and advisory boards for various non-profit organizations. Genoveva was appointed, by Governor Brown, to the California Partnership for the San Joaquin Valley and to the California Health Benefit Exchange board.

Mary Maddux-Gonzalez, MD, MPH

Board Chair

Chief Medical Officer, Redwood Community Health Center

Dr. Mary Maddux-Gonzalez is a family medicine doctor in Santa Rosa, California. She received her medical degree from Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico and has been in practice for more than 20 years.

Carmen Rita Nevárez

Carmen Rita Nevárez, MD, MPH

Secretary & Prevention Policy Chair

Vice President of External Relations & Preventive Medicine Advisor, Public Health Institute

Michael A. Rodríguez, MD, MPH

Michael A. Rodríguez, MD, MPH

Professor & Vice Chair of Research, George F. Kneller Endowed Chair in Family Medicine, UCLA Department of Family Medicine

Adela de la Torre, PhD

Adela de la Torre, PhD

Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs, University of California, Davis

Emeritus Board

  • Brenda Solórzano, Esq.                                                                                                                                 Chief Program Director & Director Health Care and Coverage                                                                   Blue Shield of California Foundation
  • Howard A. Kahn, MPA                                                                                                                                         Former Chief Executive Officer                                                                                                                                  L.A. Care Health Plan
  • Robert Garcia, Esq.                                                                                                                                         Executive Director & Counsel                                                                                                                              The City Project
  • Jose Arevalo, MD                                                                                                                                     President-Elect Family Practice                                                                                                                     Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society
  • Maria Blanco, JD
    Vice President, Civic Engagement
    California Community Foundation
  • Diana Bonta, DrPH, MPH
  • Cástulo De la Rocha, JD
    President and CEO
    AltaMed Health Services Corporation
  • Richard Figueroa, MBA
    Director, Health and Human Services
    The California Endowment
  • George Flores, MD, MPH
    Program Manager
    The California Endowment
  • Jane Garcia, MPH
    Executive Director
    La Clínica de la Raza
  • David Hayes-Bautista, PhD
    Professor of Medicine and Director of the Center for the Study of Latino Health and Culture
    David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Lia Margolis, MBA
    President and CEO
    Lia Margolis & Associates
  • Rachel Moran, JD
    Dean and Professor
    UCLA School of Law
  • Gilbert Ojeda
    California Program on Access to Care (CPAC)
  • Yolanda Partida, MSW, MPA
    Owner and Manager
    The Partida Group
  • Greg Talavera, MD, MPH
    Vice President, Clinical Affairs
    San Ysidro Health Center
  • Robert Otto Valdez, PhD, MHSA
    RWJF Professor of Family and Community Medicine and Economics
    Executive Director
    Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Center for Health Policy at the University of New Mexico
  • Yolanda Vera, JD
    Senior Deputy for Healthcare Services and Advocacy
    Office of Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas